Scandium

Discussion in 'General Firearms Forum' started by pokute, Jan 17, 2015.

1. pokute

pokute Sincere as a $5 funeral

Okay, this has been irking me, and I have got to talk about it.

S&W is getting a lot of mileage out of selling "Scandium" guns. Well, guess what? These are ALUMINUM frame guns. That's right, 99.9% Aluminum. Yes, adding a trace amount of Scandium to Aluminum makes for a very strong alloy, and it may be the perfect alloy for gun frames, but selling them as "Scandium" framed guns is playing on the ignorance of the buyer.

They are also selling guns with Titanium cylinders. In my (unasked for) opinion (I studied metallurgy at UCLA), the only advantage Ti offers over steel in this application is weight savings (which might be an important factor for some folks - I'm just saying it's not a miracle product).

Basically, what they are doing is compensating for lack of R&D by using high buzz-word materials. Ruger, on the other hand, with the LCR, has done some first class engineering to produce a better handling gun.

If you were to ask me: "Okay, Mr. Know-it-all, what, in your opinion is the real miracle metal?" I'd say "steel"! Check out my range report on the AMT 45 Backup.

S&W Airweight and Ruger LCR:

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 17, 2015
  2. havasu

havasu Administrator Supporter

Do you happen to know the difference in weight between the Airweight and the LCR?

3. Deerspy

Deerspy Member

I like the weight difference between my S&W M36 and M637-CT for a carry gun, but that is about all the QC department at S&W must be asleep if I worked there I would be down there kicking ASS!

4. pokute

15 oz for the S&W vs 17 oz for the Ruger. The vastly better trigger on the Ruger is the big win, In my opinion. Both guns look like toys compared to the fine old Centennial (S&W pre Model 40).

5. pokute