Range Officer...First Shoot.

Discussion in 'Springfield Armory M1911' started by Fried One, Jul 27, 2018.

1. Fried One

Fried One New Member

Hi Guys,
    I'm a new 1911 Range Officer owner. Have yet to shoot my RO. Is it recommended to field strip and clean before the first trip to the range. Would a light oiling do instead. I have never owned a parkerized firearm before and was wondering what is the best product and method to clean and or shine the finish.
    Thanks in advance.

2. CPTKILLER

CPTKILLER Senior Member

jimkahler likes this.

3. unclebob

unclebob Active Member

Welcome from Northern Illinois..
    I purchased my first 1911 in December and it is also a Range Officer.
    It makes me look like a real shooter.
    I always clean mine before and after every outing
    I use a Lucas gun products for cleaning and lubing and I soak the outside with Rem Oil.
    The finish will soak it up and if you are looking for any shine I believe you are out of luck.
    Good luck with your new purchase...

IMG_20180122_125735306 (1).jpg

4. Jbardellini

Jbardellini Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to the forum congratulations on your RO

5. Voltaire

Voltaire Member