Oh No!!! I'm An Idiot!!!

Discussion in 'Springfield Armory M1911' started by SA_Shooter, Feb 23, 2016.

1. SA_Shooter

SA_Shooter Uno Ab Alto

Yup...I branded the SA Trophy Match tonight...it now has an "idiot scratch". :mad:

No excuse but now I am wondering how I can avoid doing it again. I've not done anything to the slide but the flat on the frame under the notch got dinged.

Anyone got a good way to avoid this? Do I need to file down that slide stop somewhere to make it easier to snap into place? I'm at a loss. I've never done this before and am not sure how to keep from doing it again.

Any suggestions, insight, links, etc...will be very welcome!

aaaaaarrrrggggghhhhhhh.... :(

2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

What you gotta do is hold (pinching the frame and slide between finger and thumb ) the slide aligning it over the hole with your left hand while placing then pressing the slide stop down with your right...

It comes with practice...and everyone does it...believe me.

I was lucky enough to sell the one 1911 I did it to in order to buy another 1911...so I practiced on it to find what worked best for me before I got rid of it.

Now...depending on how deep it is...try either Flitz or Rejuvinate for a remedy.

3. SA_Shooter

SA_Shooter Uno Ab Alto

Thanks. I'll give that a try. Or I can use the old guitar pick method.

4. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporter

Yup...the guitar pick method works too !!

5. Steve

Steve Member

6. CPTKILLER

CPTKILLER Senior Member

Not a serious issue. It is normal.

7. Deerspy

Deerspy Member

+1 ^ for post #5 best fix works on all my 1911,s

8. SA_Shooter

SA_Shooter Uno Ab Alto

I'm not really sure what log man did in that post. Did he file in the notch on the back side of the slide stop?

9. Steve

Steve Member

Sa_Shooter,