Handgun Finishes?

Discussion in 'General Firearms Forum' started by BigBlue, Feb 12, 2015.

1. BigBlue

BigBlue New Member

While most of us are familiar with parkerizing and blued gun finishes, I find all the proprietary finishes very confusing. We find names like Melonite, black oxide, tenifer, KimPro, Armory Kote, Ion Bond, it goes on and on. I have read, in regards to Glock pistols, that if you remove the black finish on their slides, the tenifer would still be intact? A resident metallurgist might be able to clear up the confusion. :rolleyes: What's best, what should be avoided?
    Thanks!

2. pokute

pokute Sincere as a $5 funeral

Well, I am a metallurgist (okay, okay, I studied metallurgy at UCLA and worked as a metallurgist on-and-off for 8 years - I've been a computer programmer for the last 16 years- I don't want people to say I change my claimed area of expertise to suit the thread). From a metallurgical standpoint, there's nothing that makes any of the available finishes uniquely "interesting". The finishes with proprietary sounding names are all variations on finishes that have existed since the beginning of time (in other words, since I was in school - When we still had textbooks and graph paper.). They are nice and slippery, and not susceptible to galling, so they are good choices over stainless. The only real purpose they serve is to keep a poorly maintained gun sliding along a little longer.

If your gun is an SA, I'd say talk to the SA Custom Shop. If your gun is a Glock, nothing is going to make it look like anything but a Glock. There's a Glock with $2000 in custom work on it at my LGS, for $1100... Nobody is going to buy it. It's a Walmart Cinderella.

From a shooting standpoint, dead flat black park or paint is best. Not very interesting from an aesthetic standpoint.

If you're fussy about the finish of your gun, choose something that's easy to touch up, like Krylon camo paint. I'm considering Krylon over Park for a fun finish on my Citadel.