EMP3 vs EMP4

Discussion in 'Springfield Armory EMP' started by mouse9mm, Sep 4, 2016.

1. mouse9mm

mouse9mm New Member

OK, so I took out both my EMP3 and EMP4 to the range.
    Using Winchester white box 9mm 115gr

EMP3 = Flawless

EMP4 = failure to eject mostly, and failure to chamber on a few, and sometimes failure to lock slide after last round.
    When I shoot the EMP4, the slide and spring feels a little spongy, not as solid as the EMP3, Not sure why.

It could be limp wrist with EMP4, and I tightening up my grip, and it fixed a good portion of the failures, but still not flawless.
    Limp wrist could be part of the EMP4 OEM grips, kind of slippery compared with EMP3 G10 grips, and this could be the issue. I dont have large hands.

Also, what about the ammo being 115gr? maybe too light and should I use higher grain like 124gr? But this gun is over $1100, shouldnt it eat up anything? not sure as I am new to EMP3 and EMP4

Any advise and pointers will be taken seriously by me, my feelings wont be hurt, I need to learn from the best....

Please help as I DO NOT want to get rid of this EMP4 (looks awesome to give up on it)

2. Rochefort

Rochefort New Member

Don't give up. is it still in the break in period? How many rounds have you put it hrough it? I'm having a slow start with mine, too, but at about 200 rounds it started to smooth out and I expect it'll be all right.

I found the disconnector was hanging up and when I disassembled it for cleaning, it would block the slide when I reassembled. If yours has this problem you might squirt some CLP down the channel, then work it up and down until it's smooth. Also check the ejector for tightness.

After you've checked those two things, and nothing else is out of whack, heavily lube all the accessible parts, and shoot 500-700 rounds. Keep her wet, and the contact points will lap themselves into a perfect fit. If you've fired 700 rounds and you're still malfing, call custy service.

3. Rochefort