Springfield Armory Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased a Standard M1a black polymer stock. I qualified and carried an M14 in the Navy in the 80's as the security weapon for submarines.
So I have some experience with them, finally broke down a couple of months ago and purchased one.
The ammo shortage has prevented me from shooting until last weekend.
Much to my disappointment I loaded 5 rounds of TulAmmo .308 Win 150 gr steel case ammo.
First trigger pull, click, no bang, ejected the round, it was dimpled, racked another round same result.
I emptied the mag loaded Silver Bear .308 Win 140 gr Bimetal SP Zinc Plated Case, first round fired second nothing not even a dimple.
Racked another round, click, no bang but dimpled.
Loaded Monarch .308 Win 145 gr FMJ, same result.
Broke the rifle down wiped it down, put it back together, thought maybe I did not seat the trigger group well enough, but nothing changed.
Out of 20 rounds tried, about 8 correct discharges and a lot of dimpled ammo.
I am going to call Springfield next week and probably send it back, just curious if I am missing something obvious?
Thanks

·
90 Posts